Summer Baseball, Lifetime Memories


Search Archive »
  • Browse by Month

All WCL Selections

08/26/2012 1:07 PM


Portland, Oregon, August 25, 2012 - The 2012 All-West Coast League teams were released, along with the league's individual and team awards, this afternoon by WCL president Ken Wilson. The Klamath Falls Gems led the way with seven players named All-WCL while the Kelowna Falcons and Wenatchee AppleSox had five players honored.

The league's Most Valuable Player is Wenatchee third baseman Mitchell Gunsolus of Gonzaga who led the league with 48 RBIs while batting .371 with 3 home runs. The sweet-swinging left-handed batter helped lead the AppleSox to their 5th WCL title, hitting .333 in the post-season with a home run.

Gunsolus is the fourth Gonzaga player to win WCL MVP honors. Alex Stanford of Walla Walla was named MVP in 2011, and Drew Heid of Bend and Darin Holcomb of Spokane were MVPs in 2008 and 2006, respectively.

Right-hander Cord Cockrell of the Kelowna Falcons was named the WCL Pitcher of the Year. Cockrell, a sophomore-to-be at Louisiana-Lafayette, tied for the league lead with 7 victories while posting a 2.30 ERA, the fourth lowest in the WCL.

Wenatchee AppleSox coach Ed Knaggs was named Coach of the Year (for a fourth time) and Bellingham Bells GM Nick Caples was named Executive of the Year. The Cowlitz Black Bears earned the Jim Dietz Sportsmanship Award for a second consecutive year.

First-Team All-WCL

C - Nathaniel Causey (Arizona State), Bellingham Bells 
1B - Joshua Wong (Hawaii-Hilo), Klamath Falls Gems 
2B - Parker Miles (Chemeketa CC), Klamath Falls Gems 
3B - Mitchell Gunsolus (Gonzaga), Wenatchee AppleSox 
SS - Alex Rubanowitz (UC Riverside), Cowlitz Black Bears 
OF - Will Sparks (Washington), Bend Elks 
OF - Kyle Pearson (LSU-Shreveport), Kelowna Falcons 
OF - Derek Atkinson (Clackamas CC), Bellingham Bells 
UTL - Greg Mahle (UC Santa Barbara), Corvallis Knights 
SP - Cord Cockrell (Louisiana-Lafayette), Kelowna Falcons 
SP - Adam Gunn (Utah Valley), Bellingham Bells 
SP - Arturo Reyes (Columbia Basin College), Walla Walla Sweets 
SP - Rob Dittrick (Pacific), Corvallis Knights 
SP - Brandon Marris (Southeastern Oklahoma State), Kelowna Falcons 
RP - Tyler Kane (Washington), Wenatchee AppleSox

Second-Team All-WCL

C - Jerry McClanahan (UC Irvine), Kelowna Falcons 
1B - Bo Walter (College of San Mateo), Bend Elks 
2B - Marc Gallegos (Corban), Corvallis Knights; Jace Conrad (Louisiana-Lafayette), Kelowna Falcons; Steven Ventimilia (Hawaii), Wenatchee AppleSox 
3B - Austin Byler (Nevada-Reno), Klamath Falls Gems 
SS - Tanner Nielsen (Campbellsville), Klamath Falls Gems 
OF - Austin Diemer (Cal State Fullerton), Cowlitz Black Bears 
OF - Greg Velazquez (Cal State Fullerton), Klamath Falls Gems 
OF - Jarel Lewis (College of Idaho), Bellingham Bells 
UTL - Taylor Sparks (UC Irvine), Wenatchee AppleSox 
SP - Derek Callahan (Gonzaga), Wenatchee AppleSox 
SP - Cole Irvin (frosh-to-be at Oregon), Cowlitz Black Bears 
SP - Mitch Merten (UC Irvine), Klamath Falls Gems 
SP - Darin Gillies (Arizona State), Bend Elks 
SP - Travis Radke (Portland), Bend Elks 
RP - Thomas Eshelman (frosh-to-be at Cal State Fullerton), Klamath Falls Gems; Taylor Williams (Mt. Hood CC), Cowlitz Black Bears

All-WCL Honorable Mention

Bellingham Bells - Andrew Ely (Washington), Kai Hatch (Utah Valley); Bend Elks - J.R. Bunda (Portland), Steven Halcomb (Gonzaga), Shawn O'Brien (St. Mary's); Corvallis Knights - Austin Barr (frosh-to-be at Stanford), Nate Esposito (Oregon State), Trevor Frank (UC Riverside), Dylan Stuart (UC Riverside); Kelowna Falcons - Tyler Qualls (Louisiana Tech); Kitsap BlueJackets - Francisco Torres (Vanguard); Walla Walla Sweets - Brett Jacobs (Washington State), Hunter Virant (frosh-to-be at UCLA), Shane Zeile (UCLA); Wenatchee AppleSox - Beau Kerns (Wenatchee Valley CC).

2012 - Mitchell Gunsolus (Gonzaga) of Wenatchee 
2011 - Alex Stanford (Gonzaga) of Walla Walla 
2010 - Tommy Richards (Washington State) of Bend 
2009 - Richie Jimenez (Riverside CC) of Corvallis 
2008 - Drew Heid (Gonzaga) of Bend 
2007 - Zach Kim (San Francisco) of Moses Lake; Brandon Kuykendall (Benedictine College) of Kitsap 
2006 - Darin Holcomb (Gonzaga) of Spokane 
2005 - Steve Marquardt (Columbia Basin College) of Wenatchee

WCL Pitchers of the Year 
2012 - Cord Cockrell (Louisiana-Lafayette) of Kelowna 
2011 - Owen Jones (Portland) of Wenatchee 
2010 - Dayne Quist (UC Davis) of Kelowna 
2009 - Matt Andriese (UC Riverside) of Corvallis 
2008 - Jared Eskew (Cal Poly) of Corvallis 
2007 - Paul Applebee (UC Riverside) of Bellingham 
2006 - Ross Humes (Washington State) of Kitsap 
2005 - Tommy Hanson (Riverside CC) of Aloha

WCL Coaches of the Year 
2012 - Ed Knaggs, Wenatchee 
2011 - Brooke Knight, Corvallis 
2010 - Ed Knaggs, Wenatchee 
2009 - Brooke Knight, Corvallis; Ed Knaggs, Wenatchee 
2008 - Brooke Knight, Corvallis 
2007 - Gabe Boruff, Moses Lake 
2006 - Steve Hertz, Spokane 
2005 - Ed Knaggs, Wenatchee

WCL Executives of the Year 
2012 - Nick Caples, Bellingham 
2011 - Eddie Poplawski, Bellingham 
2010 - Zachary Fraser, Walla Walla 
2009 - Dan Segel, Corvallis 
2008 - Dan Segel, Corvallis 
2007 - Dan Segel, Corvallis 
2006 - Brent & Amy Kirwan, Moses Lake 
2005 - Rick Smith & partners, Kitsap

Jim Dietz Sportsmanship Award* 
2012 - Cowlitz Black Bears 
2011 - Cowlitz Black Bears 
2010 - Moses Lake Pirates 
2009 - Moses Lake Pirates 
2008 - Corvallis Knights


About the Bellingham Bells

The Bellingham Bells are a summer collegiate, wood bat baseball team and a member of the West Coast League.  During the months of June, July & August, the Bells compete in a 57-game season, playing home games at Joe Martin Field in Bellingham and traveling to compete with other WCL teams in Washington, Oregon and British Columbia. The Bells strive to contribute to a strong and vibrant community through affordable, family-friendly entertainment. 

Find Us

Joe Martin Field 

1220 Civic Field Way 

Bellingham, WA 98229

(360) 527-1035